A Reader’s Notebook: Letting Books Live On by Melanie Fuemmeler-(简单的翻译)Melanie Fuemmeler-噬书如命的读书人的笔记

As a classroom teacher, I always felt it second nature to share my reading life.  After all, I had 28 beaming faces (well, most were beaming) looking at me each day to guide them as readers, writers, mathematicians, historians, and scientists.  Sharing what I loved to read with my kids was a favorite part of the day.  While book recommendations got a decent amount of energy going around some books, it didn’t take me long to realize that the long-term excitement I had hoped it would bring simply wasn’t there.  The cycle went something like this–I (or a student) did a book talk, students got jazzed about that book, everyone wanted it (even the kids who had no intention of reading it), everyone read it (or pretended to), and then the inevitable, “Now what?”  That last part always bothered me.  Why was I always the one they looked to answer that question?  I wanted them to answer it.  Sure, I was happy to give guidance but this went beyond that.  This was dependency.  I would respond, “You tell me.  What would you like to read next?”  I don’t know.

我感觉作为一个老师的第二职责就是分享我的阅读生活给我的学生们。毕竟有28张生机勃勃的面孔(好吧,也许有一些不那么期待我)期待着我指导他们(为一个读者,作家,统计学者,历史学家或者科学家。而且和我的孩子分享我喜爱的读物的时候,是这一天中我最喜欢的一部分。当我读了推荐图书的时候发现我在浪费我的能量一些本来可以绕过的书上,而且没有多久我就意识到我期待的直截了当的长时间的读书刺激并不在那里。读书的量循环就像下面的故事一样,我或者学生讨论着一本书使得一些学生喜欢上了这本书,每一个人都想要读它(甚至是没有读写能力的小孩子也是)大家都不可避免的喜欢,那又怎么样呢。这样的想法总是使我烦躁。为什么每一次都是他们找我来解答问题呢?我想让学生们自己来解答这些谜团。我是一个喜欢在读书给出建议的一个人但是这些问题超出了建议。下一次我会这样说:你来告诉我吧。下一本书你想读什么?/或者干脆说我不知道呢亲

I realized I was only scratching the surface in sharing who I was as a reader.  It was not enough to only share the texts I read and loved (or hated).  They needed to know why these books did or did not work for me.  That moment of clarity birthed my reader’s notebook.

我意识到作为一个读书人我只是一个皮毛而已。这次并不是分享我读得书或者我喜欢(不喜欢)的书。他们应该知道为什么这些书对我来说并没有work。这一刻是我产生了让我的读者做笔记的想法.

I opened to the first page and began drafting an answer to that very question–who was I as a reader?  In a matter of minutes I had memories spilling out of me from childhood summers, grade school days, high school hallways, and beyond detailing my unique experiences that turned me into a lifelong reader.  From there, I drafted that narrative into “100 Things About Me as a Reader”- an idea I read about on another blog.  It was incredible all that came back to me as I reflected solely on my reading experiences.  Things I hadn’t thought about in years or even remembered at all suddenly came forth through my pencil, spilling onto the pages in smiles, sighs, and cringes.

我打开笔记本的第一页,尝试着粗略回答作为一个读者的我是什么这个问题。有那么几分钟我想起了,我童年的夏天,我结婚搜懵懂教育的时候,当我还在高中的时候还有生活中的各种细节,各种时候与书相伴的我的独特人生的想法冒了出来。从这个时候,我表列了“关于作为读者的我的一百种特征”,这个方法是我从另外的博客学来的一种思想。难以置信的是我读书的独特的体会让我再次放映了出来。一年中我没有想或者记过的东西突然从我的笔尖流出,他微笑着、悲叹着、有丝退缩的从我的笔力流了出来。

I showed up the next day charging my students with the same task. They began writing about who they were as a reader.  For some, this was quite difficult and they came up with strikingly little.  I showed them my example and how I’d transformed my narrative into my “100 list” as we came to call it.  I told them not be intimidated by the number, but rather to use it as a metric to really think about the many elements that make us a reader.  Just as we learned that sharing books wasn’t enough to turn someone into a lifelong reader, it also wasn’t enough to simply label yourself as a lover or hater of reading.  I encouraged them to dig deeper, to know why they felt that way.  That’s what this was all about.  I was also careful not to tell them “finish” their list, but rather to keep “adding to it.”  I did not want this to seem like an assignment or task to simply get done.  I wanted it to be an opportunity for reflection every time they opened a book. Therefore, the list may reach beyond 100.  Or perhaps this year they might only get to 30.  The number didn’t matter so much as the practice–purposeful self-reflection.

我第二天在课堂上给我的学生们布置了同样的作业。他们开始写下作为一个读者的自己的样子。同样的来说,这个对他们来说有些困难并且他们进展的很是缓慢。我那我自己为例子怎么记述我的暂且叫“100个列表”的。大家不要被这个数字吓到,但是就是这些公约似的因素是我们成为一个读书人的。尽管我们知道读书分享并不足是我们成为一辈子的读书人,它也并不能使我们成为一个喜爱或者憎恶读书的一个人。我鼓励他们往深层次的去挖掘认识那种他们的感觉。着就是方法的全部,我也鼓励他们不要结束自己的列表,要一直的去学习增强。我并不想让他们认为这仅仅是一次作业或者活动去完成。我想让他们有机会在每次读书的时候都能把这些优良的都发掘出来。因此,列表也许会超过100个,或者今年还是认识到的那30个。数量甚至练习和反省都不是那么的重要。

https://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2015/07/17/a-readers-notebook-letting-books-live-on-by-melanie-fuemmeler/

发表评论

